The Staff of Cleveland Clinic, The MetroHealth System, and University Hospitals Receive Charles Eisenman Award

Tags: Federation, PR, Leadership, Awards, Video

  • Share This Story

The Jewish Federation of Cleveland announced that the staff of Cleveland Clinic, The MetroHealth System, and University Hospitals have been named the 97th recipients of the Charles Eisenman Award, the Jewish Federation of Cleveland’s highest civic honor for outstanding contributions to our community. The Federation recognized these three healthcare systems and celebrated our community at the 117th Annual Meeting on Wednesday, April 21.

Cleveland has been able to successfully navigate its way through the COVID-19 pandemic in large part due to Cleveland Clinic, MetroHealth, and University Hospitals’ willingness and ability to collaborate. From the moment this deadly virus arrived in Northeast Ohio, their coordinated response to the crisis not only helped save lives but positioned the region for a healthy future.

Over the past year, the Cleveland community has witnessed these three healthcare systems work tirelessly to keep our community safe, healthy, and informed. They have dedicated themselves to not only provide top-quality care for patients, but also generously give their time to offer guidance to businesses, organizations, and schools, sharing their expertise on community webinars, and more. This award is being presented to the full system – from doctors and researchers to janitorial and food service staff. The staffs’ strong and steady presence, coupled with their willingness to join together in whatever ways needed, has been an exemplary demonstration of service.

“We called on Cleveland Clinic, MetroHealth, and University Hospitals to help educate our community,” said J. David Heller, Jewish Federation of Cleveland board chair. “We knew we were calling them amid sleepless nights, but every time we called on these three institutions, they said ‘Here I am. How can I help? What can I do?’”

“They didn’t see their responsibility and their job to the community as stopping at the real estate door where their institutions are located,” added Gary L. Gross, Federation’s Coronavirus Response Distribution and Oversight Committee chair. “Words cannot properly express our appreciation for what the hospital systems have done during the pandemic.”

In addition to the presentation of the Charles Eisenman Award, the annual meeting featured remarks by David Makovsky, Ziegler Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute, as well as an address from Board Chair J. David Heller and an election of Federation trustees.

Related Items

Learn More: Federation, PR, Leadership, Awards, Video