Siegal to Receive 2017 Eisenman Award

Tags: Federation, PR

  • Share This Story

The Jewish Federation of Cleveland will continue a 90+ year tradition by recognizing a leader in the community for their exceptional civic contributions. This year, Michael Siegal of Gates Mills is the recipient of the distinguished Charles Eisenman Award. The Federation will honor Siegal and celebrate the strength of our community at the 113th Annual Meeting on Thursday, April 20 at 7:30 pm at B’nai Jeshurun Congregation, 27501 Fairmount Blvd., Pepper Pike. All are welcome to attend this free event.

Michael Siegal

Siegal’s dedication to the Jewish community is evident on the local, national and international scale. He was initiated into communal activities with the New Leadership Division of State of Israel Bonds, eventually heading its Board of Trustees. At the Jewish Federation of Cleveland, he served as an officer of the Board of Trustees for many years and rose to become Board Chair from 2010-2013.

As his term with the Cleveland Federation ended, Siegal moved on to become Board Chair of the Jewish Federations of North America (JFNA), the Federation’s national system representing 148 Jewish communities across the United States and Canada. His international leadership opportunities have enabled him to represent American Jewry in conversations with the president of the United States and the prime minister of Israel.

Siegal currently chairs the Secure Community Network (SCN), the first national non-profit dedicated to protecting the American Jewish community through homeland security initiatives. SCN was created when Jewish Federation of Cleveland President Steve Hoffman was “on loan” for three years as CEO of JFNA.

Siegal’s passion for the Jewish community extends beyond the Federation. He has served on the boards of AIPAC and the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC). Siegal has also served on numerous community and industry boards, and currently serves on the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Board of Trustees in Cleveland.

The Siegal’s commitment to ensure a Jewish future resulted in the launch of the Michael and Anita Siegal One Happy Camper Program, a $1.25 million endowment aimed at recruiting Jewish children to overnight camps who would otherwise be unable to attend. One Happy Camper is a program of the Federation and operates in partnership with the Jewish Education Center or Cleveland (JECC) and Foundation for Jewish Camp. To date, more than 300 Cleveland children have attended Jewish camps through the One Happy Camper Program.

Siegal is a past recipient of the Federation’s Edwin M. Weiner Young Campaigner of the Year Award, the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Metal Center News’ Steel Man of the Year, and Inside Business’ Northeast Ohio Business Hall of Fame. He is the Chairman and CEO of Olympic Steel, a publicly traded company, and a national expert in the steel industry.

In addition to the presentation of the Charles Eisenman Award, the annual meeting will feature remarks by Dr. Ronald J. Clark, who oversaw critical infrastructure protection across physical and cyber risks activities for the Department of Homeland Security in his role as Deputy Under Security for the National Protection and Programs Directorate (NPPD). The program also includes an election of Federation trustees and a brief address by Jewish Federation Board Chair, Gary L. Gross. For more information or to RSVP, please visit www.jewishcleveland.org, email infomgr@jcfcleve.org or call 216-593-2900 x740.

Related Items

113th Annual Meeting

Learn more

About Us

Learn more

Siegal Concludes Term as JFNA Board Chair

Learn more

Learn More: Federation, PR